Skip to content ↓


What is the role of the Governors?

The role of the governing body is to help Dovers Green provide the best possible education for its pupils. Although the head teacher is responsible for the day to day management of the school, its internal organisation and discipline the governing body oversees the running of the school, providing help and support in all aspects of school life.

Who are the Governors?

School governors are volunteers drawn from all walks of life. They have a genuine desire to improve education for children and they give up their time freely and also attend courses to ensure that they are as knowledgeable as they can be. The head teacher is a governor. All governors have an initial period of office of four years, although many serve far longer than this.

What do they do?

There is a School Committee meeting at least once a term.  The governing body fulfils its role in three basic ways:

By providing a strategic view

That is, helping to decide the school’s strategy for improvement so that the pupils learn more effectively and achieve the highest possible standards.

By acting as a critical friend

Being critical in the sense that it has responsibility for monitoring and evaluating the schools performance and effectiveness. A friend because it exists to promote the interests of staff and pupils.

By ensuring accountability

The governing body is responsible for ensuring good quality education in the school and for the schools overall performance. It is responsible for its actions to parents and the wider local community and works very closely with the headteacher and staff.

Communication with parents

Governor meetings at Dovers Green are open meetings and any parent is welcome to attend.

  • Ms Nicki Starling


  • Mr Brett Hamblin


  • Mrs Vanessa Hamilton

    Co-opted Governor

  • Mrs Sonia Ingleby

    Co-opted Governor

  • Mr Robert Murphy

    Parent Governor

  • Miss Katharine Perry


  • Mrs Veronica Readman

    Co-opted Governor

  • Dr Laura Rowe

    Parent Governor

  • Mrs Rachel Thomas

    Staff Governor

  • Mr Jon Fry

    Co Vice-Chair/Co-opted Governor

  • Mr Steven Frost

    Co Vice-Chair/Co-opted Governor

  • Mr Andy Whitehouse

    Co-opted Governor

  • Mrs Karen Watts

    Co-opted Governor

  • Mr Sean Ruth

    Link Trustee

  • Mrs Mary McCrea

    Link Trustee

  • Mrs Carolyn Scott

    Co-opted Governor